Having it All

Friday is finally here! Except now it’s 12:17 a.m. on Saturday. I meant to sit down this evening, have a lovely cocktail after taking my son for dinner and write a little. Not how things actually went down. I’ve been plunging a toilet most of the evening.

I am a sure product of the eighties, told that we can aquire and accomplish all, raise 2.5 kids, maintain a social life and a marriage. These were not only goals our foremothers ingrained into us, but our duty as women to fulfill as to pay homage to the feminists before us.

Well happily I failed them! My ulcers, headaches, and depression have long passed, as well as the heart palpitations of anxiety. I realized that perfection was unattainable, to find that the journey of attempting to achieve it is far more fun if seen as a road trip. That Aquanet induced hallucination of having it all has passed, and I’m a better woman for it.

 

One thought on “Having it All

Leave a Reply

